The Straight Path


bike_pathAs I was coming back from the mosque I was mulling about all the mistakes I have made the last few days and how I should go about and repent for them. This lead me to think about the straight path and how hard it is remain on it.

As walked on our two way bike path, mulling about this question and thinking about Surah Al-Fatiha I walked on the white line that had been painted at the perimeter of the bike path when it hit me that the straight path is not a path, street, road and most certainly not a highway. It is like a white line in the middle of this vast highway that all humanity is passing through.

To remain walking on the white line at the parameter of the bike path, I had to keep looking down at it and each time I looked up or got distracted by another thought I would almost immediately diverge from the white line.  The same applies to the straight path, which is why we find ourselves so many times outside of the straight path when we just got there (or felt that we got there).  I will end this with Surah Al-Fatiha

  1. In the name of Allah, the Commpassionate, the Merciful.
  2. Praise be to Allah, the Lord of the Worlds
  3. The Compassionate, the Merciful
  4. Master of the Day of Judgement
  5. You alone do we worship and to you alone we pray for help
  6. Guide us to the Straight Path
  7. The way of those whom You have favoured
  8. Not of those who have incurred Your wrath. Nor of those who go astray

Ameen

5 responses

  1. Nice analogy.

  2. Thats amazing Salah! I could not have put it any better!

  3. Loved your post ! Thanks for sharing

  4. http://comomeditarja.wordpress.com/ | Reply

    Great site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find excellent writing like yours
    nowadays. I honestly appreciate people like you!
    Take care!!

Leave a Reply

